Maps Of Hell

When I’m down on all fours,
and looking,
looking into a kennel or cage,
I find a pair of luminous eyes
on level terms, close to mine.
They watch me with extraordinary emotion,
and I realise

I’ve met an animal, face to face,
on equal terms, orbs of terracotta red
just inches from mine,
and I realise,

either one of us could be looking into a mirror.
Silence and colossal stillness pauses
between us as I stare at the eyes –
alien and familiar

and looking,
at me as I gaze into the den.
Then there’s a blush between us,
because the beast has to turn.
It turns away, from what it sees,
ashamed, or so it seems, of full recognition.

Posted on November 3, 2013, in Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

